What a start! York City Knights bag blockbuster opener against Bradford Bulls

Punching the air in delight! Photograph: York City Knights

The fixtures for the 2018 League one season have been released and York City Knights could not have asked for more.

They have the pick of the opening fixtures – a home clash with the Bradford Bulls.

York City Knights vs Bradford Bulls

Sat Feb 18th, Bootham Crescent

The Knights will host the former World Club champions at Bootham Crescent on Saturday February the 18th at the start of what is set to be a thrilling campaign.

The first away fixture will see the club travel to Coventry Bears, where Knights’ player-of-the-year Joe Batchelor and new signing Brad Delaney formerly played their rugby.

The closing fixture mirrors the gruelling end to last season, with a home match against Whitehaven – the club that ended the Knights’ dreams of promotion in a heartbreaking play off defeat.

This year the fixtures will be in a straight home and away format, with the champions gaining automatic promotion to the Championship, and the second to fifth placed teams going into the play offs for the next promotion spot.

Fixture list 2018

Sunday, Feb 18 – Bradford Bulls – Home
Sunday, Feb 25 – Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Round 3
Sunday, Mar 4 – Coventry Bears – Away
Sunday, Mar 11 – Oldham – Away
Sunday, Mar 18 – Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Round 4
Sunday, Mar 25 – Keighley Cougars – Home
Friday, Mar 30 – Doncaster – Away
Sunday, Apr 8 – Newcastle Thunder – Away
7 Sunday, Apr 15 – London Skolars – Home
Sunday, Apr 22 – Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Round 5
Sunday, Apr 29 – West Wales Raiders – Home
Sunday, May 6 – Hunslet – Away
Sunday, May 13 – Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Round 6
Sunday, May 20 – Hemel Stags – Home
Sunday, May 27 – Whitehaven – Away
Sunday, Jun 10 – Workington Town – Home
Sunday, Jun 17 – North Wales Crusaders – Away
Sunday, Jun 24 – Keighley Cougars – Away
Sunday, Jul 1 – Newcastle Thunder – Home Sunday, Jul 8 – Doncaster – Home
Saturday, Jul 14 – London Skolars – Away
Sunday, Jul 22 – Bradford Bulls – Away
Sunday, Jul 29 – Coventry Bears – Home
Sunday, Aug 5 – North Wales Crusaders – Home
Saturday, Aug 11 – West Wales Raiders – Away
Sunday, Aug 19 – Hunslet – Home
Sunday, Sep 2 – Workington Town – Away
Sunday, Sep 9 – Oldham – Home
Sunday, Sep 16 – Hemel Stags – Away
Sunday, Sep 23 – Whitehaven – Home

Ford excited for the challenge

Knights head coach James Ford
Knights head coach James Ford is happy with how the fixtures have come out and believes that the squad are fully capable of making significant improvements from last years play off dissapointment.

Speaking to the club’s website, he said:

“I am happy with how the fixtures have come out for us – it will be a tough start as we play the title favourites early on but I’m excited for that challenge.

“We will have had the benefit of a full pre season in excellent facilities at York St John University behind us, so I expect us to really hit the ground running on what will be a fantastic occasion.

“We will be looking for improvements from last season, and the squad we are putting together looks more than capable of that.”

Twitter reacts