Shed Seven are back! Legendary band launch brand new album

Magnificent seven… Shed Seven play Fibbers last July. Photographs: Richard McDougall

Shed Seven are back with their first new studio album in 16 years.

The legendary indie band announced today that they have recorded a brand new album filled with original tracks.

And they are also planning their “biggest tour ever” – #Shedcember2017.

They said on their Facebook page on Monday (February 20):

We are excited to announce that we are releasing our first studio album in 16 years to coincide with our biggest UK tour ever. #Shedcember2017

It is an amazing moment for Shed Seven, York’s most successful chart band ever, who scored 15 top 40 singles and four top 20 albums in the 1990s.

Their last proper studio album was Truth Be Told, released in 2001. There was also new material in 2005’s post-split album One Hand Clapping.

The unnamed album is available for preorder now from the Shed Seven website. The download is £8, signed CD £10 and signed vinyl £20.

Secret demos

Lead singer Rick Witter

The Shed’s lead singer Rick Witter said the band has been working on new material for two years.

“We’ve spent the last couple of years writing and secretly demoing and have more than an album’s worth of material that we can’t wait to share with you,” he said.

“We feel that now is the right time to share these with you. We’re looking forward to ‘#Shedcember2017’ where it will be business as usual; you’ll get to hear all the songs you rightly should expect to hear but this time with a light sprinkling of new music to top it all off.”

Shedcember tour

The Sheds are a brilliant band to see live

Shed Seven’s tour will take place in December 2017 with 15 gigs taking them across the country.

The nearest gigs to York are at the Leeds O2 Academy, the Sheffield O2 Academy and Hull City Hall.

But if you get in there fast, those who pre-order the album get access to an exclusive intimate pre-tour show to hear the new material at the Pocklington Arts Centre near York, which only holds 200 people.

Their Shedcemeber support band will be Cast. Tickets go on sale this Friday (February 24) at both the Gigs and Tours and Ticketmaster websites.

Here’s the full list:

Fri 01 Dec: Glasgow O2 Academy
Sat 02 Dec: Newcastle O2 Academy
Mon 04 Dec: Blackburn King Georges Hall
Tue 05 Dec: Stoke Victoria Hall
Thu 07 Dec: Cardiff University Y’Plas
Fri 08 Dec: Nottingham Rock City
Sat 09 Dec: Sheffield O2 Academy
Mon 11 Dec: Norwich The Nick Rayns LCR, UEA
Tue 12 Dec: Bournemouth O2 Academy
Thu 14 Dec: Bristol O2 Academy 1
Fri 15 Dec: Birmingham O2 Academy 1
Sat 16 Dec: London O2 Brixton Academy
Mon 18 Dec: Leeds O2 Academy
Thu 21 Dec: Hull City Hall
Fri 22 Dec: Manchester Academy 1

The Sheds say:

Thank you for all the support that we have received over the years, we’re really excited about this new chapter for Shed Seven and hope that you’ll continue to be part of our journey!