43 things to do in York this weekend, June 23-24 2018

There's magic and mystery at Barley Hall this weekend… Photographs: Richard McDougall
22 Jun 2018 @ 4.03 pm
| Entertainment

Nudity, tattoos and magic this weekend – if that doesn’t tear you away from the World Cup, nothing will.

As always, York’s comprehensive guide to things do to in York is here.


Held almost every year since 1945, the York Rally on Knavesmire is two days of two wheeled fun. Vintage bikes, cycling demos, speedway and cyclo-cross, there’s something for all the family.

There are no upcoming events at this time.

York’s only annual nude transport excursion, since the demise of the Starkers Express. The naked bike ride draws attention to the vulnerability of cyclists while celebrating “the beautiful bicycle, and the diverse bodies which ride them”. So squeak onto your saddle this Saturday.

There are no upcoming events at this time.

If you’re into your ink, think New Earswick this weekend – as some of the best artists descend on the village. Two days of tattoos, music, body modification and grub.

Van Gogh: The Immersive Experience

Fri, July 5 @ 10.00 am - Thu, December 31 @ 6.00 pm
York St Mary’s
Castlegate
York, YO1 7FR United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Future Greats: Aesthetica Art Prize 2020

Sun, March 1 - Sun, February 28
York Art Gallery
Exhibition Square
York, YO1 7EW United Kingdom
+ Google Map

The Heart of Yorkshire: Creativity and Culture in York Minster’s Collections

Sat, September 19 - Sun, January 17
York Minster Chapter house
Deangate
York, YO1 7HH United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Jill Ray’s landscapes – digital art exhibition

Tue Sep 22 @ 10.00 am - Sat Oct 24 @ 4.00 pm
Village Gallery
14 Colliergate
York, YO1 8BP United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Human Nature

Wed, October 21 - Sun, January 24
York Art Gallery
Exhibition Square
York, YO1 7EW United Kingdom
+ Google Map

York Mediale 2020

Wed Oct 21 @ 10.00 am - Sun Oct 25 @ 10.00 pm

Piccadilly Pop Up Art Gallery & Open Studios

Sat Oct 24 @ 12.00 pm - 6.00 pm
Swinson House
23 Piccadilly
York, YO1 9PG
+ Google Map

York Design Week 2020

Mon Oct 26 - Sun Nov 1
Various venues across York
York, United Kingdom

Sunlight Through the Leaves – Jill Welham Exhibition

Mon Oct 26 @ 10.00 am - Sun Nov 8 @ 4.00 pm
The Yorkshire Arboretum
Castle Howard
York, YO60 7BY United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Alphabet Illuminate

Mon Oct 26 @ 10.00 am - Sun Nov 1 @ 4.00 pm
York Museum Gardens
Museum Street
York, YO1 7FR United Kingdom
+ Google Map

The Living Room

Mon Oct 26 @ 11.00 am - Fri Oct 30 @ 4.00 pm
Woodyard Farmhouse
Main Street
York, YO10 5DX
+ Google Map

Drawsome! x Skint Skateboards x Young Thugs

Tue Oct 27 @ 11.00 am - Sun Nov 1 @ 4.00 pm
Spark:York
17-21 Piccadilly
York, YO1 9PB
+ Google Map

KaWildoscope

Fri Oct 30 @ 6.00 pm - 9.00 pm
According to McGee
8 Tower Street
York, YO1 9SA United Kingdom
+ Google Map

The Drey Open Studio

Sun Nov 1 @ 10.00 am - 4.00 pm
The Drey Studio
16a Heslington Road
York, YO10 5AT
+ Google Map

People We Love

Mon Nov 2 - Sun Nov 29
York Minster
Deangate
York, YO1 7HH United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Super Cool Drawing Machine

Thu Nov 5 @ 11.00 am - Sun Nov 8 @ 9.00 pm
The Crescent Community Venue
8 The Crescent
York, YO24 1AW
+ Google Map

York Textile Artists’ Exhibition in Pritchett Chapel

Sat Nov 14 @ 10.00 am - Sun Nov 15 @ 4.00 pm
York Cemetery
Cemetery Road
York, YO10 5AJ United Kingdom
+ Google Map

‘Inspired’ Annual Christmas Show in Pritchett Chapel

Sat Nov 21 @ 10.00 am - Sun Nov 22 @ 4.00 pm
York Cemetery
Cemetery Road
York, YO10 5AJ United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Trans-Siberian: The World’s Longest Railway

Fri, March 26 - Sun, September 5
National Railway Museum
Leeman Road
York, YO26 4XJ United Kingdom
+ Google Map

Whether you’re mad on memorials, raring for Romans or wild about walls, there’s something for you here. York Civic Trust is staging a series of guided walking history tours around the city – and all for free.

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Veganism is having a moment, with its eco and health credentials being taken up by ever more high profile figures. Find out more at this event featuring food, stalls, music and talks.

There are no upcoming events at this time.

York’s talented musicians join together to stage a special concert at the Barbican. There could be as many as 1,000 performers!

There are no upcoming events at this time.

A medieval alchemist will walk you along the fine line between science and magic at Barley Hall during this weekend’s opening of Magic & Mystery, a new exhibition which explores how ‘magic’ played an important role in Middle Ages life. Expect demonstrations of alchemy, and hands-on crafting activities.